Welcome Back

It’s odd. I grew up in a place that allowed me to travel the world before I was 18. It was one of the things I Ioved about being there. Kuwait was small enough that in order to experience anything new you had to leave. And my parents let us experience that to the fullest. Summers in Europe, spring break jaunts to the motherland, Pakistan, and the school trips – the tournaments in Athens, the Hague, Cairo, and Damascus, to name a few.

Then I came to the States. For as much of a global citizen I used to be as a kid, that’s how stationary I’ve become since coming here. When I do travel overseas it’s to visit my parents back home or get my cultural recharge in my annual trek to Karachi to visit family.

But to experience something new. I haven’t done that in ages. Maybe its my desire for some stability. Maybe it’s because this country is big enough to quell my desire to see more of the world. Whatever it may be, this isn’t who I was growing up. And this isn’t who I want to be when I do finally grow up.

All I know is I’m sitting at my gate waiting to board a plane to take me to Madrid. A trip that not only finally fulfills my desire to see Spain, but starts me on a path I got derailed from when I got here as a freshman in college.

I feel like that kid again, ready to explore, ready to learn, ready to be a part of the global community again.

Welcome back, Juvi, I’ve missed you.

2 thoughts on “Welcome Back

  1. I hope you had a great time, Spain has a special place in my heart and is home to Sophia’s favorite city: Barcelona

  2. I’m glad you took a well-deserved trip to Spain. It was great to see you again! I love meeting up with friends in foreign places. -Lauren

Leave a Reply

