Yes, I am in a book club…or two.

When I first started a book group with my good friend, some people mocked it. They said it was something “old people do.”  I thought maybe it was not the trendiest or coolest activity but I sure did love it. So I carried on with it. Now 3 years in, its one of the things I really look forward to. Interestingly, I read this article in the New York Times Sunday Magazine about how prevalent book groups have become in America and not just in urban settings.  They are no longer an activity for just middle aged women or “soccer moms,” but common amongst all kinds of groups, whether it be gender-based or based on some other affiliation or interest.  In fact, people are even hiring book club facilitators to lead their book groups. I wonder if that takes the fun out of it, but I suppose it depends on the facilitator and the group.  Outside of my formal book group, I often ask for and share book recommendations with friends  which is such a fun little conversation to have, especially when you’re really excited about what you’re reading.  It’s just not the same discussing a television show. Maybe that’s because books are envisioned in our minds, we develop relationships with the characters in solitude, and to share that with someone else becomes a way to bond, to share thoughts and feelings from within.  It’s also a way to grow our knowledge and to read about things we wouldn’t otherwise have read or known about. It was wonderful to see that more and more people are partaking in an activity I take great pleasure and pride in.  Do you have a book club? If so, what do you love about it? Happy reading book-lovers.

Image

A book club meets in Fall River, Wis., at the home of Sara Uttech. Credit Darren Hauck for The New York Times

Leave a Reply

