Spring Cleaning

AND WE’RE BACK EVERYONE!

We’ve decided to do our own bit of spring cleaning: a new look for our blog and some fun posts lined up!

il_570xN.723752823_517fBut first, don’t you want to know what we’ve been up to?

I’m currently reading…

Nadia: The Nightingale – so good! I’ve read way too many books based on World War II, but this one is from a different perspective and it’s a page-turner!

Juveria: I’m in the middle of The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell. Okay, if I’m being honest, I’ve been in the middle of that book for quite some time now. If you know David Mitchell, you know things can get loopy, and this is no exception.

I’m currently eating…

Nadia: I recently read Why We Get Fat and am trying to modify my diet based on the core of this book (read: carbs are evil!) It hasn’t been as hard as I thought, but sometimes you just need a bite of that croissant

Juveria: Rarely can you describe a meal as pure perfection, but I just had one of those at Kai Zan, a Chicago sushi spot. Went with the chef’s tasting menu, and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Every course was elegantly done and mind-blowingly delicious. Next time you’re in Chicago and craving sushi, go here, you won’t regret it!

I’m currently watching:

Nadia: Oh, there was lots of good television this spring! My top shows are: The Good Wife (Alicia, my idol!); Mad Men (sad to see it go too. Feels like an end of an era for sure); Game of Thrones (too gory sometimes, but I’ve been pulled in!); and Real Housewives of New York (my guilty pleasure).

Juveria: April was insane with premieres of shows I love: Orphan Black (already renewed for season 4!), Mad Men (sad to see it go), and Game of Thrones.

But there was one newcomer this past season that I absolutely fell in love with: The CW’s Jane the Virgin. Don’t let the title get to you or the network its on, otherwise you’ll be missing out on one of the smartest, charming, and wittiest shows on television right now. A show which managed to score the network’s first ever Golden Globe nominations and win(!) for its lovable lead, Gina Rodriguez, a Peabody Award, and TV Critics Choice nominations.

I’m currently working on…

Nadia: I transitioned to a more entrepreneurial role recently, so I’m focused on building efficient work habits and finding fun and engaging ways to network (check out this really cool co-working/membership community just for women business owners in NYC.)

Juveria: We just recently moved, so, my next big project is finally getting stuff up on our walls. Which I forget how daunting of a task that is given you have to look at that stuff every single day. Also, getting art framed is super expensive.

 I’m currently looking forward to…

 Nadia: Summer! And spending time with friends and family of course!

Juveria: Summer reunions! Family and friends are going to be coming and going this summer. No better way to embrace the warm weather than with the people you love.

Leave a Reply

